I want to build amps....for a living.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by scanlory, Feb 21, 2008.

1. scanlory

scanlory Member

So, I'm currently a electrical engineering major at PSU (sophomore), and all I've really wanted to do since I started playing guitar (about 6 or so years ago, I've played instruments sine 1st grade), is design and build guitar/audio amps for a living. I really don't want to end up in a normal cubicle job when I get out of school. I am really enjoying engineering, so I wondering if anyone has any tips or advice for me? :BEER

2. hogy

hogy Member

The best advice I've ever read related to the subject was by Randall Aiken:

Q: "How do you make a million dollars?"

A: "Take two million dollars and start an amp company."

3. pcutt

pcutt Member

Here's my opinion, from someone with an MS in engineering who has started companies.

- Choose your career based on doing something you love, but be sure you're well prepared.
    - Finish your degree.
    - Treat the message from people like Hogy and Aiken about there not being much money in amp designing/building seriously. Tube amps are a mature technology that is labor intensive and digital amp technology will only get better as time progresses, so figuring out how to monetize this is difficult.
    - Learn engineering "best practices". This is usually gained by working with others and is hard to pick up in isolation.
    - Learn how to run a business since you may want to call your own shots rather than designing as an employee for someone else.
    - Network with others. Get a reputation as someone who others want to have around. The old saying about "It's not what you know but who you know" carries a lot of weight.

I'm sure others will have more suggestions, but let me be the first to offer to beta-test your amps. :)

4. KCWM

KCWM Member

send your prototypes my way, and I will spread the word of mouth to all of my 3 musician friends!!!