Idea for a Partsmaster...wood suggestions

mattymel

Hey y'all. Full disclosure...I've never built anything before but I have been obsessing about a parts guitar project for a while. My latest idea is a Jazzmaster inspired by this photo I saw. Mainly a Jazzmaster with Firebird pickups.

I honestly haven't played that many Jazzmasters but I know the basics. I'm thinking of sticking with the basic format but with the secret ingredient of Lollar Firebird pickups (of which I am a big fan, via playing my buddy's FB).

Leaning towards using the Mastery bridge and trem I hear everyone raving about. Basically using all very nice hardware/etc. and hoping to simplify the wiring to a more Firebird like setup (none of the scary Jazzmaster tone wheels, basically like the pic).

Im unsure on 2 areas. ...I'm wondering if I should stick with the standard alder Jazzmaster body (hopefully routed specifically for firebird/mini humbuckers to keep with the look of the photo), or if perhaps a darker tone wood (perhaps mahogany) might be a better fit with the Firebird pickups?

From what little I know of the standard JM pickups, they are like "lite" p90s. Something between a fat strat pickup and a p90? Whereas FB pickups are kind of their own world. Basically a snappier mini humbucker. Might a FB pup be a little bright with an alder body?

I know it's really a matter of what I am hoping for soundwise. So, if I had my ideal, I would say I am hoping for the mojo/trem/cool looks of a Jazzmaster with some of snap and bite of a good Firebird guitar, minus the neck thru and crazy headstock.

Second concern being, where I should go for the body/neck? I am leaning towards finding all the parts I need and then paying a much more qualified tech to put it together for me and work on the frets/setup.