• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Ideal Workshop Environment

magnus02

Looking for some input on what type of environment (temperature and humidity ranges) is ideal for a workshop for building guitars from the ground up.

I'm in Colorado (Aspen area) and am looking into a few potential spaces but some are pretty bare bones and I'm concerned that I need more control over temperature and humidity than these spots will give me. Maybe I'm overthinking this because my day job is growing plants in a highly automated environment but I don't want to make the mistake of setting this up in the wrong place. I'd be building and painting and doing all processes in house (hopefully!).

So...
- ideal temperature range?
- ideal humidity range?
- thoughts on space requirements to build batches of up to 6 guitars at a time?

Any other general requirements I should be considering? I'm sure there's tons I'm missing. I'm a newb but very motivated!

Thanks in advance for any input!

Steve

B. Howard

Gold Supporting Member
RH is the most important as it is what the wood will respond and move with. I target 45% RH in my shop +/- 5%. I would rather have it to the low side than the high. Temperature should be what is comfortable for the worker. I find 70-74 F to be good for me.

As for space take what you think you need and double it.

Laurent Brondel

Silver Supporting Member
Acoustic or electric?