iLoks are a hassle - are they worth it for the software developers?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by CyberFerret, Apr 20, 2015.

1. CyberFerret

CyberFerret Member

I just bought some plugins from an audio software house (Slate Digital), and they inform me that I will specifically need an iLok2 for the copy protection on these plugins.

I've had an iLok1 for a while now, and while the initial setting up of licences on there IS a royal PITA, the ongoing use is not a huge issue, as long as I don't lose the iLok somewhere in the meantime.

Now I am going to have two iLoks to manage, unless I go through the whole rigmarole of transferring my licences from the 1 to the 2...

Now, I am a software developer myself. Have been so for over 25 years or so. In that time I have worked with, and seen various industries jump onto the copyright protection bandwagon, then drop them when the ongoing support and hassle for the development & support team just gets crazy.

I am wondering why audio plugin vendors are still hanging on to such tight copy protection methodologies? Is the increased support payoff still cost effective? (Note: The only times I have called these companies for support has been over copy protection issues).

Or is the audio industry just rife with people who have been brought up with the view that music and everything related to it should be freely copyable and duplicated and consumed without repercussion, and that extends to the tools used to make that music?? I'd like to think not.

Does the lessening of the theft still come out ahead over the inconvenience to the honest customer?

Any members who may work for these companies (Slate, Waves etc.) that can chime in with some practical reasons, I would appreciate it.

2. Astronaut FX

Astronaut FX Member