im lost when im studying scales, chords and theory,what can i do???

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by jazzyguy, May 5, 2016.

1. jazzyguy

jazzyguy Member

hello guys, well tonight im very sad if that the correct word, see im 36 year old i got a degree on family physician after graduated from med school son its been many years of the medicine world, but i always wanted to be a musician, i even went to a conservatory school music 6 month but for some reason i end up or the medical world, so after finish the residency i decided to get back on the guitar so i got a lot of material to study but i really don't now where to start, i know the almost holly pentatonic scale wich everybody knows, also now about the harmonize chords,the intervals, major minor 7th chords, and i got new material about caged system about the chords, modal scales, techniques but i don't know where to start and how to organize my self to study, i know that if put the same discipline and time that i use on themed school i will learn to play in a decent way! i don't have a teacher because he couldn't continues teaching me because of his work, and i was learning very slowly hope that make him decide to quick with me!!!
    can you give some advice of what to study and where to start, also y you can recommend me any material, courses, books..anything, i will appreciate that i really want learn to play.

Pd because of the dollar currency im not able to pay skip classes (wich was an option until last year)
    :(

amstrtatnut likes this.
  2. old goat

old goat Member

Can you tell us more about yourself--what is the extent of your ability on guitar? what kind of music do you want to play? How best to learn and how much theory you need to know depends a lot on what you want to do. Is finding another teacher an option for you?