I'm not a musician, I'm a guitar player

Staggerlee

Said this as a joke when I brought my guitar to work because I had rehearsal later and someone asked me if I was a musician. Sad, but true. Anyone else ever feel like that. :beer:hide2:rimshot

Kitten Cannon

Hm. I've always felt the opposite way. I'm not a guitar player; I'm a musician. I couldn't care less about most of the **** guitar players nerd out about.

EricPeterson

This will start an endless semantics debate, in my experience people use "not a musician" or "not music" in place of "I dont like that." Guitarists make music and are by definition musicians. Being a musician does not mean someone has a certain level of musical prowess, it merely means they make music.

People will offer all kinds of reasons certain people who make music are not musicians which generally boil down to some combination of:

1. they cant read music
2. They only play covers
3. their instrument of choice is not an instrument
4. The lack some level of technical proficiency.

Same goes for genres of music (rap most notably). In any event to me is it is more a matter of excluding people and elevating one's self than a rational discussion of what a musician is.

If you make music, be it with your voice, an instrument, or beating on a pan, you are a musician.

:)

Craig Allen

This will start an endless semantics debate, in my experience people use "not a musician" or "not music" in place of "I dont like that." Guitarists make music and are by definition musicians. Being a musician does not mean someone has a certain level of musical prowess, it merely means they make music.

People will offer all kinds of reasons certain people who make music are not musicians which generally boil down to some combination of:

1. they cant read music
2. They only play covers
3. their instrument of choice is not an instrument
4. The lack some level of technical proficiency.