I'm not feeling the magic with my TR Emerald 50

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Yossi, Feb 8, 2008.

1. Yossi

Yossi Gold Supporting Member

I think that an Emerald 50 may be too much amp for me. I am running a Marshall 4x12 1960a cab and I have it in my large basement jam room.
    I've had it for about 2 years. For a while I was running a 2x12 with it.
    The clean channel is very tight and the amp is very loud so I might not have it up enough to really get it to do its thing. I am using one of my OCD, BB, or ACplus to get over drive. I can get it fine. Maybe I am looking for more of a swirl, or looser sound. I read about the Two Rock amps and heard clips.
    Could my problem be the speakers in my Cab? The cab itself or the Amp.
    I really liked the Fender Bassman that I played the other day. Perhaps I am thinking of a Tweed sound. I am not a professional musician but I love the guitar enough to try to get a great sound. What can the experts tell me about my Two rock Marshall Cab set up and the sounds that it is designed for?

2. Rod

Rod Tone is Paramount Silver Supporting Member

I owned an Emerald 50 for a year...I sold it because, yes, it was pretty stiff sounding, and also because it had to be played so loud to get it in it's sweet spot....All that being said, the newer Two Rocks are sweeter sounding, and sound better at lower volumes,,,espiecally the Jet

3. michael.e

michael.e Silver Supporting Member

Are you using a phase correct speaker cable with the head/cab combo?
    Emee

4. Yossi

You lost me on this one.

5. drbob1

drbob1 Silver Supporting Member

TRs are wired so that a normal speaker cable will result in the speaker cone going backwards when you first hit a note (out of phase with the guitar). It will sound different and possible better if you use a speaker cable with the hot wired to the ground and vice versa (reverse phase).

If you decide not to keep it, I'm sorta interested in an Emerald Pro, let me know...

6. Yossi