I'm So Confused

vashondan

Silver Supporting Member
I'm a newbie when it comes to pedals and especially when it comes to overdrive. I've bought and sold a few because I could never get the sound I heard in demos. A few minutes ago I was watching a Pete Thorn demo of the Dude and thought I never come close to that kind of sound (a little bit of breakup and edge, which I like). I really get confused about the interaction between the pedal/amp/guitar and the settings thereof. I have a Katana Blues Overdrive and an Collaccia id. The amp I'm using is a Carvin Nomad and right now using my Vela for the most part but have a strat as well.

Can anyone help me sort this out or point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Flatscan

Silver Supporting Member
Copy the pedal settings from the demo. Use the same guitar/amp, if possible.

drbob1

Gold Supporting Member
The problem is that recording an amp doesn't sound like the amp in the room. Not only does the EQ and the distortion change, but Youtube compresses the heck out of the audio so you lose dynamics... So, I would not go chasing the sound you hear in a demo video. The character of the overdrive, like the ability to balance on the edge of crunch, should translate well BUT it also depends on the pickups (single coils vs hum buckers, hot vs cool output, vintage vs modern wiring of the tone control circuit, active vs passive) and the amp (a hard edged amp like a Mesa set clean, or a Twin is going to interact less with the pedal than an amp that's already close to break up like say a 5w Champ). Does that help? What guitar are you using?

DexterT