In general how do Gibson humbuckers stack up to SD, Dimarzio, etc?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by jimmyohio75, Sep 20, 2017.

1. jimmyohio75

jimmyohio75 Member

I have been playing Gibson Les Paul's for 15 years. I have had just about every Gibson humbucker made including, 57's, BB and BB Pro, 490R and 490 T, etc, etc.
    I have never felt the need to swap out these stock pickups but lately I have been wondering if there are improvements to be made in clarity, punch and articulation.
    I play crunchy hard rock stuff. Think Clutch, Zeppelin and ZZ Top. Any of you guys replace the stock Gibson humbuckers with something else and been extremely happy?
    I also can't see myself paying upwards of $500-600 on new pickups so the boutique, ultra expensive stuff is out.

ant_riv likes this.
  2. corn husk bag

corn husk bag Silver Supporting Member

Played them all, love 57 classics and Tom Holmes. Other Gibson pick ups are not bad either. For high gain, don't know.

ant_riv likes this.
  3. chillybilly

chillybilly Member

I hesitate to offer the It Depends answer but...It Depends a fair amount on the guitar.

Example: I have a VOS SG with BB1/BB2 and have no complaints.

Imagine my surprise when I got a 2016 ES-339 with the same pickup set and found that they were very dead-sounding, especially the bridge.

Swapped them out for Antiquities and it was like getting a new guitar. They are very well-suited to the styles you cite whether it's amp or pedal crunch/OD.

~$290 for the pair plus tech labor unless you're doing it yourself. With a semi-hollow I decided to let someone else deal with the neck-twisting headache of installation.

ant_riv and jimmyohio75 like this.
  4. jimmyohio75

jimmyohio75 Member

I have a 2017 Tribute Les Paul (see avatar). The Bridge pickup seems a tad muddy regardless of gain level. I am thinking of replacing it. Need suggestions..

5. cvansickle

cvansickle Supporting Member