Indian or brazilian rosewood?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by Myron Stratis, Jul 22, 2004.

1. Myron Stratis

Myron Stratis Supporting Member

What would you choose for a Strat style guitar, alder body, SSH??? I want a ballsy, in-yer-face tone with high end detail but not TOO MUCH high end detail.:D Opinions???

2. Taller

Taller Member

Anywhere is everywhere and nowhere is nothing.
    I'm guessing you mean the fretboard, [and I'm no expert, but you did ask for opinions!] and I'd wager despite the hype you read on the internet, it does not make one iota of difference which variety of rosewood ends up on your fretboard in regards to making a difference in tone.
    I just have a hard time believing a strip of wood @ 1/4" thick or less is going to impact the tone in the way you describe.

I'll look forward to being corrected by the masses!:rolleyes:

3. aoguitars

aoguitars Guest

Between Indian and Brazilian, there really isn't the biggest difference in tone. Depending on the piece, BRW is usually a little more dense, so you're going to get some more balls. Its a toss up between the two. If you really want a huge difference and want to stay with a rosewood, check out some Honduras Rosewood--they use this stuff to make claves and percussion. The tap-tone is unbelievable--a HRW board will add some wonderful bell-like tones.