Inspiration from hearing others play guitar

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Gasp100, Feb 9, 2012.

1. Gasp100

Gasp100 Silver Supporting Member

Do people still get inspired by hearing other guitarists play and try to cop their playing (rhythm parts, solos, etc...)?
    I'm glad I didn't include anything about Van Halen in the title :) but this thread is actually about player's like EVH.
    I started playing when I was about 12 in 1982. VH was pretty close to wrapping things up I guess, but he was still incredibly hot in guitar playing circles of course. I was way into Led Zeppelin at this time and learning as much as I could off of tapes by ear. I was also influenced by The Police, the new Yes album at the time, 90215, and other "current music". My older brother was into heavier stuff like AC/DC and Ozzy "Bark at the Moon" which I loved as well. He went to Sweden as an exchange student for a year and I'll never forget he sent a cassette that he had made for me. It was him talking, basically saying what's up and then at one point he said, "Oh yeah, I got a guitar and I've been practicing a lot, check this out". He proceeded to play the recorded version of Eruption for me on this cassette and my mind was completely blown! It was pretty funny on his part, but at the same time this definitely effected me bigtime and I was instantly floored by what I had heard.