• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Instruction books/dvds

Dimitri

I've searched everywhere and I ended up buying "Mastering The Fretboard" by Troy Stetina.

While I'm sure this a a great book, I can't seem to bond with it or keep my focus. Also the hearing training, which is usefull, is not something I want to get into right now.

What I need:

Pentatonic / major / minor / blues scales explained

I've learned my pentatonic scale in the 5 different positions, but I have no idea what to do with them now. How to connect them en create something melodic.

So How to play the scales, different positions, and how to combine them

Solo techniques... also usefull practice methods I can do at home

An explanation of how to solo over the rhythm chords... switching between keys/scales

I've been playing for over 10 years and everything is still like rocket science to me.

I can't read music sheets, only tab notation.

So are there any books or dvds someone could recommend me, helping me to figure out the guitar and its playing bit by bit?

Taking lessons would be ideal ofcourse, but there is no room in my budget to afford a teachee.

snouter

Chords are in positions but scales are not in "positions" unless you want to sound like John Mayer.

The late Ted Greene was awesome in explaining how to play over chord changes but some of his books are traditional sheet music. Have you checked out Frank Gambale's stuff? Also do you have a piano type thing. That helps tremendously with theory.

Clifford-D

Frank Gambale - Techniques book 1 & 2.

Book 1 talks about 90% of what we use, book 2 covers the more exotic stuff.

I've recommended these books, especially book 1, for years now.
Low verbage, maximum clarity and usage. Outlines and diagrams.

This is a reference book, not a guitar course. Imo, the best books are books that can be used for reference and are not bogged down by excessive talking.