Intonation weird after nut swap

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by slide2xxx, May 24, 2015.

1. slide2xxx

slide2xxx Member

Hi,

today, I replaced the nut on my PRS with a stoptail bridge.
    I've been using the pre-slotted replacement part.
    So, it's basically just a matter of filing the slots down and gluing in the new nut.
    While I'm not an expert at this, I've successfully filed/replaced nuts a couple of times before.

However, now, my intonation is weird. The three high strings all were pretty sharp, the three low strings were perfect.

Sofar, I've never had to adjust anything on a PRS stoptail. Now, the bridge is visibly slanted because the adjustment screw on the treble side is almost all the way in. The intonation is almost perfect again (b string is slightly sharp, still), but I'm left wondering how could that happen?

The only things that changed are the nut and the strings (however, same set and same gauge were used). I don't see how the nut replacement could physically affect a difference in string length but I guess that must be the reason - somehow?

Please enlighten me! :)

2. SamBooka

SamBooka Member

sounds like the nuts slots arent deep enough .. I can get my intonation perfect on my strat at the 12th fret but my F at the first fret high e is 6 cents sharp .. F# is 4.5 cents.. etc etc.. it gets better from there. I know this is because of the nut but I dont know how low I can safely go before it starts buzzing..

3. slide2xxx

slide2xxx Member

Thanks!

For clarification: Intonation was off at the 12th fret.

The slots seem ok depth-wise. Maybe a tiny bit too high on the treble side, indeed.
    But why would that affect the intonation at the 12th fret so clearly?

4. SamBooka

SamBooka Member

I am only aware of a couple of things that affect the intonation in as far as the nut is concerned..

... if the nut is not cut deeply enough