iPad advice for a teaching musician?

archtop

I'm about to buy an iPad. I teach guitar for a living. I want to move all of my lesson plans and transcriptions to the iPad in PDF format (presumably). I'm looking for advice on how much storage I need, and app recommendations. I'm generally interested in how other musicians use their iPads. I don't want to spend more than I need to, but don't want to be frustrated either.

cosmic_ape

Silver Supporting Member
Any iPad will handle as many .pdf files as you need... As for apps, I just got an iPad myself so I haven't even looked into it...

rusty

I own a guitar & I'm 3° from Kevin Bacon
Silver Supporting Member
GoodNotes is a cool pdf app...can "write" on your pdf's or change into sheet music mode...free version is all i've used, but it's worth seeing if it does anything for ya!

just from years of iphone/ipad use, get the newest/biggest you can afford. when they update operating software, you'll get more years out of it and less drag/glitch!!!

PaulC

"Notion" is a great app that's about $17.00. I use it for both of my kids. We score out my son's drum lessons, and he can use it to play along with the beats. Same for my daughter's piano lessons. It can also score tab along with staff.

I've been having a blast with it for about 3 months now.

PaulC
Timmy pedals

hairshirt

As a student, I can tell you that I find AnyTune Pro+ to be completely invaluable. The ability to speed up, slow down, pitch shift, and slide back and forth, as well as loop sections over and over has been amazing for me to learn new songs (I've been doing this for about three years now). My instructor was used to the Amazing Slow Downer (as a Berklee student that's what a lot of them use(d)) but a) it's actually the same price, and b) not as intuitive (at least for me). There is a free version as well; it plays audio at a lower bit rate and I believe it might have ads. But it's a good place to start if you don't want to spend the $15 for the app.