Is a '65 Bassman head right for me?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Mike37, May 23, 2011.

1. Mike37

Mike37 Member

Hi guys. First, I should say that I'm a total vintage amp noob. I've read the whole Bassman Bunch thread and gained some good knowledge, but still consider myself pretty clueless. Okay, so a guy I know offered to sell me his son's '65 Bassman head for $200. Here's the catch. It appears that a couple tubes are missing and the guy isn't sure if the amp is working or not. He was going to plug it in and switch it on, but I quickly stopped him, thinking it would fry with a missing tube. Neither of us have access to cabinets or tubes to test it out, so it's basically a "buy it and see what might be wrong" situation. The guy is elderly and just trying to clean out his basement.

I have two main questions here...

First, what are common concerns/problems on these amps? As far as I can tell, aside from a tube or two missing, it looks like it hasn't been touched in years. It's covered in cobwebs and dust. I'm assuming it's mostly original if not 100% original, again aside from the missing tubes. I've heard these referenced as the small block Chevys of amp heads, so that's a good sign I suppose.

Second, I currently just play in my windowless basement with my Bugera V5 for the most part. Neighbors are about 20 feet away on either side and there's a busy road in front of the houses. If I would run the Bassman through a 2x10 or 2x12, cranked up enough for some overdrive, would I be asking for trouble? I've never heard a 50w head inside a basement, so this might not even be a good idea from the start. I mean, I'm not expecting to play at bedroom or sleeping wife levels, but I just want to try to keep the neighbors happy. If it helps, I can play my V5 on the 5 watt setting with everything cranked and it's *just barely* audible outside the house. Even then, you have to be listening specifically for it.