Is a port needed in a sealed cab that farts out?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by plan-x, Mar 20, 2008.

1. plan-x

plan-x Supporting Member

I have a 1x12 closed back cab with a v-30 that gets muddy in the bass at high volume and just sounds wrong. This didn't happen with the same speaker in an open back combo. My therory is at high volume with max speaker cone movement it creates pressure variances in the cab, thus interfering with speaker cone's natural movement. So I'm considering drilling maybe a 1" hole or so in the front baffle.

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

2. StompBoxBlues

StompBoxBlues Member

I'm no expert at all, but it makes sense to me. Same thing you are saying put another way, bass is a slower frequency, but especially at higher volumes it makes the speaker move much further in and out, which would be harder if the pressure in the cab (since no venting) would "dampen" it, not let it so easily move.

I'd have to think about it more, but it might even be that it affects one movement more than another...maybe the "in" movement of the speaker gets dampened most because it is trying to compress, or maybe the out because it creates a buit of a vacuum.

But, just for argument, say you decide to try it...what considerations does one have to have for the size, location, and design of that actual port?
    I've never read much about how ports need to be "tuned" or if the simply ARE more a function that lets air move in and out, letting the speakers work undampened or if ports also are expected to send out some frequencies to the front, be a part of the overall sound as well?

I know nothing about ports...

3. rockon1

rockon1 Member