Is a tubescreamer VERY different from a rangemaster?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by soldano16, Jan 13, 2008.

1. soldano16

soldano16 Member

I'm quite new to pedals and have recently discovered the joy of Rangemaster type pedals. My prior experience was only with a tubescreamer and a Boss SD-1.

I never consistantly liked the tube screamer and the Boss was the best I knew of until I hit the current batch of boutique pedals. I'm using my Lovepedal BBB07 in Rangemaster settings and I find the pedal just so much more natural and organic sounding than either the TS or SD-1.

Maybe it's because my ears are relating to all those old Les Paul/Marshall tunes from the 60's and 70's.

So I was curious - are there major design differences between a TS or SD-1 pedal and something like the BBB07?

2. wingwalker

wingwalker Fuzzy Guitars

Yes...completely different. One is an opamp based OD unit while one is a germanium boost...

3. Stressfest

Stressfest Supporting Member

Or silicone depending on version of Rangemaster ;)

4. wingwalker

wingwalker Fuzzy Guitars

Well, a real Dallas Ranger Master was ALWAYS germanium however you are right...there are loads of silicon clones out there and I have to assume he was asking about clones since not many people can afford/find originals!

Either way...good call!

5. Stressfest

Stressfest Supporting Member

Agreed...nothing sounds like an original germanium rangemaster :AOK

6. Ramblin390

Ramblin390 Member

7. utterhack

utterhack Gold Supporting Member

Note that your Lovepedal BBB is ALSO very different from a genuine Rangemaster.

8. welcometoashley

welcometoashley Supporting Member

Chicago (Humboldt Park/Ukrainian Village)
    +1 on the above responses... i've been using my treble boost almost exclusively for OD/Boost sounds lately and am really digging it...

that said, if you stack a treble booster to drive a TS-type pedal you can get some killer tones too...

9. Rob Eadgbe

Rob Eadgbe Member