Is economy picking lazy or better if you have to work all day?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Guido Sarducci, Feb 17, 2012.

1. Guido Sarducci

Guido Sarducci Member

I mean you can judge it too fast if alternate is hard to learn and dragging the pick is easy right away. So you assume too fast economy is better. But I have looked everywhere on the internet and the only examples I can find of fast 3 nps scales with strict alternate are a few professionals that have all day to play guitar. Maybe people who only have 2-3 hours at night should use alternate slow/sweep picking fast?

Cello/viola/violin... are all tuned to fifth intervals. So that makes easier 4 note per string scales. More notes per string and less "outside" string changes. Everything is easier for the right hand. 3 notes per string is hard to pick fast.

2. Manicstarseed

Manicstarseed Member

I'm a working stiff. My alternate picking is coming along. Yes, if I was a starving musician, It would be mastered by now. It will be mastered some day.

Alternate picking, for me is not about speed, but instead, its about maintaining a rhythmic groove while single picking.

3. buddastrat

buddastrat Member

Use them both for the sounds they give. You want all the textures at your fingertips. My favorite players are the ones that mix both.

4. sixesandsevens

sixesandsevens Member

:agree

OP - How fast are you talking about playing?

For ramping up on alternate picking, I found the early Hot Licks video from Paul Gilbert (Intense Rock?) to be a good intro.