Is Friedman for me?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Progman, Apr 20, 2016.

1. Progman

Progman Member

I know what you're gonna say. "Go to the store and try them yourself." Trust me, I will. But I want the inside scoop first, maybe some owner experiences/input.

I've been using a Hot Rod Deluxe III for a few years now. Have a bunch of mods installed, even a WGS speaker. The cleans are great, but even with great pedals I'm not getting the dirt sound I need. The bottom end is still small sounding, and I've realized that maybe it's time to get back into the halfstack realm. I've been trying to get a nice hot rodded Marshall sound out of this thing forever, and I come close but it's still a little fender combo. Enter my GAS for a Friedman.

Man oh man. Rave reviews, killer demos, right up my alley type tone. But there's a question. The BE100 is a $3699 head. There are fantastic amps in that price range, and I'm sure the BE is apart of it, probably sky high in the ranks. But there are amps like the Ecstasy, Helios, 2203's, and so on. For a versatile hot rodded Marshall type amp, is the Friedman going to be my best bet? The Helios sure has caught my attention...

2. MangoMango

MangoMango Supporting Member

The eternal question.

If you have the coin buy used at prices you can then move them for if they don't work out OR you absolutely love it and sell it anyway just to try something new that is anticipated to be just as fabulous.

There's rarely a finish line in this game.

Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  3. grego7

grego7 has left the building Gold Supporting Member