1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

Is it hard to install pickups in a Les Paul?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by dmarkj22, May 21, 2011.

1. dmarkj22

dmarkj22 Member

I want to replace my current pickups and I am considering doing it myself instead of paying for someone to do it. My question is, is it difficult to do? I have never done it before. Would you suggest I have it done or is it possible to do it myself? What references could you point me to that will help me?

2. XKnight

XKnight Member

Can you use a soldering iron? And are you okay with possibly messing up your first few times and maybe even damaging the finish?

3. kurtsstuff

kurtsstuff Member

I forsee burn marks aroundnd the lip/shelf
    of the control cavity
    Lots of cussing and swearing trying to
    get the pickup rings and new pickups together
    and possibly a stabbed hand or two when the jewelers
    screwdriver slips off the hieght adjustment screw
    Most likely gonna wire em up backwards the first time maybe 2nd time as well
    I could go on but..I'm basically telling you what I went through the first time.. :)

4. TheGuildedAge

TheGuildedAge Supporting Member

Soldering isn't difficult but it takes some practice. I burned up a few pots and melted some plastic wires before I got good at it.

Big thing for me to learn was heating the part and letting the solder flow. Also, making sure joints weren't cold and crusty, they should be shiny.