Is it the 6L6s that give Fender's such great cleans?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by theatomicjeff, Aug 10, 2008.

1. theatomicjeff

theatomicjeff Member

Sorry for what must be a redundant topic but I'm a pretty much a novice about Fender amps. I've always been an EL34 guy. Is it the 6L6s that give Fender's such great cleans? Is the 6L6 tube pedal-friendly?

Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  2. gkoelling

gkoelling Member

The majority of Fender amps use 6L6 tubes, so no, it's not the 6V6's that give the famous Fender clean tone. It's the whole circuit, not just the power section.

3. padavis

padavis Supporting Member

I thought 6L6 and 6V6 tubes were key to big huge cleans until I got my Mesa Express 5:25. I also played on a couple JCM800s and man talk about a neat clean! Now, I think good cleans can be made with many different tube variations. I also now believe that a good reverb or some tweaking to a delay pedal and a touch of chorus is another key in making good cleans, even if reverb is used sparingly. I think tube friendliness towards pedals depend on others things but hopefully someone who really knows will reply to that part of your post.

4. theatomicjeff

theatomicjeff Member

Doh, I meant 6L6's. I'll try to edit the title.

5. gkoelling

gkoelling Member

It worked but now my post looks stupid!! :roll

I came back in here and thought I was losing my mind!

6. theatomicjeff

theatomicjeff Member

My apologies to gkoelling.
    Maybe someone can explain the difference between the 6L6 and 6V6?

7. XKnight

XKnight Member

The main difference is the "L" and the "V". :)

The 6L6 came first. The 6V6 was introduced as a lower power alternative and doesn't run as hot. The biggest difference I've found is that the 6L6 has more clean headroom whereas the 6V6 breaks up faster.

8. riffmeister

riffmeister Gold Supporting Member

It's the whole design, not just the poweramp, that gives Fender it's sound.

6L6 is a 25 watt tube, 6V6 is a 12 watt tube.