Is it worth investing in a good amp for home use?

ZerglotMarine

I'm kind of new to amps and stuff, so I don't really get this.
Could somebody explain to me if it is worth investing in a good amp for home use?
From my noob point of view, what matters more is investing in a good guitar and maybe good pedals to sound good at the gigs.
Would a cheap practice amp suffice?
Mayb there's something I'm not seeing.

Dashface

Yes - you are making the classic mistake people make when they start. Everyone gets excited about pedals and guitars because they are fun to buy and own... Guitars look great, pedals are cheap and make a big obvious difference every time - so of course that's what people buy.

But a good amp is the absolute foundation of everything you are doing with electric guitar. Without one everything you buy sounds worse. A good amp will inspire you to play better, and it will make sure that you are ready and prepared for gigging and rehearsal and everything else.

Don't make the mistake of being cheap about the amp. Even the lowly Hot Rod Deluxe or a Blues Jr will be enough for years to come.

ZerglotMarine

Yes - you are making the classic mistake people make when they start. Everyone gets excited about pedals and guitars because they are fun to buy and own... Guitars look great, pedals are cheap and make a big obvious difference every time - so of course that's what people buy.

But a good amp is the absolute foundation of everything you are doing with electric guitar. Without one everything you buy sounds worse. A good amp will inspire you to play better, and it will make sure that you are ready and prepared for gigging and rehearsal and everything else.

Don't make the mistake of being cheap about the amp. Even the lowly Hot Rod Deluxe or a Blues Jr will be enough for years to come.
Thanks! Will look into those amps :)

FF71

Silver Supporting Member
Could somebody explain to me if it is worth investing in a good amp for home use?