Is Onyx/Tracktion the best way for me?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by carljoensson, Mar 26, 2008.

1. carljoensson

carljoensson Member

Hi,
    I'll appreciate all the time and effort it would take you to advice me - and I'll do my best to use the search function.

This is what I want to do (in order of priority):
    1. I want to record instruments and vocals, mix and experiment and mixdown using my computer.
    2. I want an easy way to build drums for my songs (using loops?) - this is what I feel most limiting with my present setup.
    3. More than anything it will be my home project studio, but taking the gear with me to record my band live or in a good room is interesting.
    This is what I've done so far:
    I have a standalone 16-channel Fostex multitracker. Now I want better overview of the tracks, an easier way to work with plug-ins and effects and drums. I have not worked (myself) using DAW & software - total newbie.

This is what I own already:
    • Dell Inspiron 6400 (laptop), Intel Centrino Duo T2250 @ 1.73 Ghz, WindowsXP home edition version 2002, service pack 2, 1 Gb RAM, Internal harddrive 120 Gb, 1 firewire port, 4 USB ports.
    • Mackie Onyx 1220 mixer
    • Various mics, Amps, guitars, bass, nice headphones, good homestereo
    • Cheap synth (Roland XP-10) which I can't play at all (being a limited guitarist/singer).
    • Fostex VF-160 multitracker, Zoom drummachine.
    So my question: what would I need, what should I focus on?

My thought:
    Since I've got an Onyx mixer, the Onyx firewire card could be the logical step for hardware. If buying that Tracktion 2 would be included in the package. This would let me record 12 tracks simultaneously, a bit much at home, but good if I record the band live.

Would you agree this is a good solution?
    Anything else that gives me more bang for the buck?

Drums/software - EZ Drummer, Reason or stuff already included in the Tracktion package?