Is the Fender 3 bolt neck heel inferior to the 4 bolt heel?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by smallbutmighty, Feb 1, 2012.

1. smallbutmighty

smallbutmighty Supporting Member

2. LarryN

LarryN Member

Slightly less stable, but the rest is up to the individual, soundwise. I like it not tilted for better wood contact. There's more hardware in the assembly, which has a slight affect on tone, plus only two screws directly into the wood. The simple four screws into the wood mounting probably has better energy transfer.

3. Ronsonic

Ronsonic Member

ATMO, yes, the 3-screw is inferior. The necks aren't as stable - that is the first thing a neck should be.

4. mikeylikesit

mikeylikesit Member

From a tonal perspective I can't tell the difference. I think the stability difference, if any, is directly related to setup. This of course is my opinion from having owned and played both types. I remember this being a hot topic since I started playing back in the early '70's and I personally don't believe there is a definitive answer. There are simply too many variables.

5. geekocaster

geekocaster Member

i cant tell the difference tone wise or function wise. that said i prefer 4 bolts.

6. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member

not as such, but coupled with the shoddy '70s fender tolerances and the resulting big gaps around the pocket, yeah, not as stable. (G&L did it right later on, with a longer neck plate and tighter neck pocket fit.)

7. Boris Bubbanov

Boris Bubbanov Member

I'm not a fan of the Micro Tilt concept from the outset.

I believe the 3 bolt Fender and G + L designs grow directly out of the microtilt concept.

So, you aren't gonna see me choosing this type of 3 bolt over the 4 bolt. There's simply no upside to it.

8. Ronsonic

Ronsonic Member