Is the two rock EXO going to satisfy my two-rock gas?

swem

I have ALWAYS wanted a two-rock. Since the second I started playing electric guitar. I have never been able to justify the HUGE amount of money to get myself one, figuring that there is a point of diminishing returns and my quality boutiques in the 1-1500 range are close to as good. My favorite amp so far was my tone king comet, the cleans on that thing are to die for. Now two rock has introduced the studio pro line a few years back at much more resonable prices and I have thought about jumping on one a few times, they seem impossible to find used though. Now they have released the exo at a super affordable price point (for a two rock) and I think I might finally own a two rock. Im just wondering how they fair to their more expensive bigger brothers. Quality clips are few and far between. Any owners please chime in. Thanks in advance!

T92780

Gold Supporting Member
I guess you don't have a dealer within a couple hour road trip from your location to play the amps?

I don't own, nor played an EXO, but own an old Jet and SP22. I've also played Custom Clean, Classic Reverb, etc and I think with a few twist of knobs, all their amps clean channel tones can sound "pretty much" the same at "lower volumes".

I needed time with my SP22 to dial it in, unlike my old Jet. The tone controls on SP22 are turned to all crazy levels, but I got my tone with a little time- love the amp.

If a few hundred makes a big difference in your budget and I understand if it does, I would wait to play each 35-watt and below amp in TR family to find your "partner". TR's are touch sensitive and exploit your playing mistakes and highlight the good stuff. I wouldn't go below SP22 for a couple of reasons, unless maybe you get a used EXO for under $900.00....then it might be worth the gamble IMO.

Traviswalk and others will be able to provide you more help.

Veritas

Gold Supporting Member