Is there a model guitar that you find harder to play?

arpegadream

Silver Supporting Member
My best friend just declared that one of his guitars, a very inexpensive Cort, is now mine since he left it with me and I fixed it up. It's a decent guitar for a cheapie, but I find it harder to play than my other two cheap guitars. It is a 25.5" scale, so there is that, and yeah, I've done good setups on all three guitars, believe me, I'm a tech and can do such things pretty well.

Still, it's harder to play. I remember when I had my 64 Strat as a kid it was harder to play than my Hag III by quite a bit, too.

I know the neck's shape, width, scoop, scale, radii, wood, and more affects how hard it is a play a guitar well, but expensive or cheap doesn't ALWAYS dictate difficulty. But the Cort is definitely cheaper than my other two. I presently don't own a valuable guitar, I've had a number of them though and ease of play wasn't directly relatable to price. It is a factor though.

So of your guitars, which ones are less docile to play but you still love?

Rod

Tone is Paramount
Gold Supporting Member
I do better with Gibson scale instruments with light 009 or 008 strings.. jumbo frets. Fatter necks. Try some round core pure nickel strings from Curt Mangan.. easier on the hands.....

Russ73

Like Rod said I play better lately with shorter scale IE Gibson or PRS and 9s down from 10s and 9.5s...just a complication of getting older I guess...

Danzego

I have an American Professional Tele that I consider harder to play than my other guitars (2008 American Standard Strat and three Les Pauls- Standard 50s, 2019 Traditional, and a 2020 Custom Shop V1 R0).