Is there an Electrical Engineer in the house?

Gas Hed

Or at least someone that understands Watts? I just picked up a Headrush FRFR for my acoustic guitar rig and it's got this great promo sticker on it saying 2000 WATTS. What does that really mean? Especially considering it doesn't get nearly as loud as my 15 Watt tube amp?

VICOwner

Gold Supporting Member
I’m not an electrical engineer. I do build amps and have a decent electrical background. Here’s a formula you can take to the bank on electrical power. Volts X amps = wattage. If you figure that the fuse rating is the most current that the amp can “move” through it’s chassis times the input voltage, this is the maximum “power” that can be dissipated. 2000 watts @ 120 volts is 16.66 amps of current. Amplifiers waste some input power producing output power. Tube amplifiers waste quite a bit more power than solid state amplifiers because of the heater circuit used to warm the cathodes but all amplifiers require more input power than they can output. Most common household circuits are protected by a 15-20 amp circuit breaker and they rarely feed a single receptacle. I will take a chance and say the amp is more likely to output more like 200 watts at best for any real amount of time. It’s internal filter capacitors have a storage capacity that can be depleted quickly and therefore an output surge can occur but this happens very quickly and although it’s possible to get some ridiculous current levels for just a millisecond but it’s not sustainable.

mikekim

The Headrush series will apparently handle 2000w Peak (combined High (1300w) and Low (700w) Frequencies)

Headrush Specification Sheet

I reality they're more like 1000w but 2000w sounds much more impressive.
I have a pair of 108's and I've measured them at over 115db (which is loud enough to cause permanent hearing damage after 30 seconds of exposure :oops: )