Is there any reason why the Scarab Deluxe shouldn't be my first BA fuzz?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by big jilm, Aug 9, 2018.

1. big jilm

big jilm Supporting Member

Hi, all -

I am about to purchase a Basic Audio fuzz, and I am just looking for some opinions.

I am new to fuzz - I just got a Musket Fuzz, and I love it. I understand that it is a sort of Big Muff type thing, so I don't want to buy a fuzz that is in the same vein - even though the Alter Destiny clips just sound awesome. I like the Musket for the cello-violin sustainy thing. At home (lower volume) I run pedals into a Box of Rock JTM-45 sounding pedal (which I really dig for low volume stuff) into a clean Carr Mercury V. The Musket sounds really cool running like this.

I am thinking the Scarab Deluxe because the clips sound great, and I understand that it is in a sort of Tone Bender class, which makes it quite different from the Musket Fuzz Muff thing, and that it is really versatile.

But! The Spooky Tooth sounds great in clips... and the Fuzz Mutant too!... and the...
    In other words, they all sound pretty awesome, so I am kinda paralyzed. John's videos with splatt sound so good, I want them all.

Any reason why the Scarab Deluxe shouldn't be my first BA fuzz?

Thanks! I know these topics are done to death, but I wanted to add my own situation to it.

wrightdude likes this.
  2. Jazzandmore

Jazzandmore Gold Supporting Member

I’m starting my fuzz journey as well found one I really like the sound of, so I’m going for it.

Get that BA and enjoy!

big jilm likes this.
  3. chankgeez

chankgeez Member

Scarab Deluxe is a fine introduction to Basic Audio FUZZES. :aok Think of it as a gateway drug.

4. jfwund

jfwund Member

Love my Scarab Deluxe. Super versatile, sounds great, just a really useful pedal. I've had a bunch of BA pedals, and the SD is still my favorite...

big jilm likes this.
  5. Seance

Seance Member