Is this a Bogner or Two Rock? Part 2.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by fatbagg, Sep 10, 2019 at 1:07 AM.

Is this a Bogner or Two-Rock?

1. Bogner

69.2%
  2. Two-Rock

30.8%
  1. fatbagg

fatbagg Member

It is recorded through a phone, so that doesn’t help.

No pedals used in the front, just a delay in the loop. 2x12 Pine UKv30 cab.

It could be a Two Rock Emerald (Modded by Bill Krinard for more options and gain and no master volume) or a Bogner Helios Eclipse.

WBellman and Vaibhav Joshi like this.
  2. Plexi68

Plexi68 Member

I have no experience with either amp but hearing some Marshall grind starting around the 1:10 mark. I’m going to guess Eclipse?

fatbagg likes this.
  3. fatbagg

fatbagg Member

Ill reveal in a few days, but I like the reason behind your choice. Crazy good amp! Both of these amps can be set up pretty similar, bold warm midrange and smooth as can be! The Eclipse does have a Marshall grind, a very warm and fat take, but its there. This Two Rock, however, may be the most gainy Two Rock out there, haha. I can get them pretty
    Close. In the room you would know the difference in response and feel, but through an iPhone with amps setup to sound similar it’s tough.

4. mscotts

mscotts What?! Silver Supporting Member

Doesn’t sound like a Bogner to me in the midrange...so I’ll guess Two Rock.
    Two great amps to have in one’s stable for sure!

Vaibhav Joshi and fatbagg like this.
  5. fatbagg

fatbagg Member

Too bright or dark in the mids? Or just character overall. Sorry for the weird wording, it’s difficult to respond and not give away details!

6. mscotts

mscotts What?! Silver Supporting Member

There's just something about the mids in a vintage Marshall and the well executed variants (Bogner, Friedman, Suhr, Germino etc...)
    that sticks out to me. Some call it "woody", some say it's a kerraang lol...
    To me its a warm bite that excites the midrange frequencies.