Is this a good deal? (335)

auffredou

My friend is selling his 1989 sunburst es 335 for $1000 even. When I asked him about it, this was his response:

"it had one headstock repair. a small crack on the back of the neck. all fixed though. its sunburst 1989.. since it had the headstock crack.. im selling it for only a grand"

id normally say that a grand for a 335 is a steal, but i guess it depends on what he means by "all fixed." I mean ill have to take a look at it, but Im not very good at judging things like that. Any thoughts or advice?

RJM/rydog2223

If the repair was done professionally then I say it would be a decent deal. Depends on what you think about the guitar. Good luck!

auffredou

thanks rydog. is a crack in the back of the headstock going to have an effect beyond cosmetically? will it affect playability or anything else?

auffredou

update: he just sent me this message clarifying what he meant by "crack"

"It was a finish crack when i got it.. then it went into the headstock.. so i got that repaired right away. its totally back to normal.. it plays perfectly"

not sure how big a deal this is or how much it devalues it.

RJM/rydog2223

thanks rydog. is a crack in the back of the headstock going to have an effect beyond cosmetically? will it affect playability or anything else?
I don't know how much truth there is to this(maybe someone can back me up on this one)but that a repaired Gibson headstock is stronger than is was when it came from the factory?? If it was done by a good tech then it should be no problem. Sounds like a pretty good deal. Hope this helps some!
:RoCkIn

gitman

this is a great deal if you ask me - a very good guitar, it generally plays exellently if set up right and the value will surely not decrease but it probably won't increase either with these models. if you look for a player's guitar then grab it fast !

FFTT

My neighbor has 3 '85 LP Studio's and the Tobacco burst shows a finish