Is this Mullard EL34 good? How to visually ID "spent" tubes?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by EL34, Jan 24, 2006.

1. EL34

EL34 Silver Supporting Member

I am by no means an expert on old tubes, but I recently picked up a quad of used Mullards that were said to have plenty of life left in them. The flashing is not bright/shiny on any of them, it's rather a dull grey color. But one of the four tubes is pictured below. To me, it looks like this tube is toast, and I would be loathe to run it in my amp for any period of time for fear of it giving up the ghost. There is no flashing left, and it just appears to be burned in the area where the flashing used to be.

Is this tube good, or should I be asking for my money back?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. dewman

dewman Gold Supporting Member

looks bad, I'm not an expert (email Mike K at kcanostubes.com for his opinion) but to me they look like they might be cooked. they should be tested at operating voltages, not on some low voltage tube tester. Its not a meaningful comparison, as many people do selling tubes on ebay. I would get your money back, then call Mike at KCANOS tubes http://www.kcanostubes.com/content/, or Lord Valve http://www.nebsnow.com/LordValve , or other reputable dealers (usually they advertise constantly in Vintage Guitar magazine). Its true they might have some life, but that could be days and not the months that you want...and the tone could be suspect too, which, after all , is why you bought Mullards anyways...

3. stratovarius

stratovarius Supporting Member

Ahhh eBay! Three out of four seems to be about par for me! I've gotten a couple of Mullards that look like that and they both turned out to be bad. I worry about "experimenting" with my amps, too.

4. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)
    From appearance, I'd have to guess you've got about 5% life, if any, left in that tube. I'll be it tests nowhere near "new".

5. EL34