It's the time to decide... RK5 + H9 or Amplifire?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by snooze, Apr 13, 2015.

1. snooze

snooze Member

Hi all,

Yes, this is another "VS" thread, but I need your inputs.

Until Amplifire came out, I was an almost 100% happy owner of a Fly Rig 5. In fact, when the RK5 came out, I wanted to replace my Fly Rig 5 by the RK5 since I'm a lead guitarist and I prefer having my post before my higher gain distortion.

My plan was to by a RK5 and add an H9 for effects. This wasn't a perfect solution in my mind since the RK5 doesn't have an effects loop. I'm still not sure if the combinaison would sound great. (Opinion?)

Now with Amplifire on the market and having good reviews, I'm confused. I was almost ready to buy it until I realized that here in Canada, it would cost me around 950$! Since the effect in the H9 seems amazing, and since the one in Amplifire seems ok but maybe not as good as the one in the H9... I'm hesitating!!

I could have an RK5 + H9 for 900$...

Or... !!

I could have an Amplifire for 900$... !!

So, what would you do?

Thanks for your help!

2. jaded_musician

jaded_musician Supporting Member

I know it's not an option now, but my vote would be for the Amplifire now, try it and see if it meets your needs for effects. It actually does pretty well, if you need more save up and get the H9 to add to it when you can. Unless there's something that RK5 really shines on that I'm missing.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2015
  3. snooze

snooze Member

That's interesting... this way I could see if the effect in Amplifire get better...

And it seems clear that Amplifire is much better than the RK5 (Can do better amp tone, with more versatility and better delay and reverb... based on feedback).

Is Amplifire able to do good delay, phaser and flanger... to cover let say, Pink Floyd basics?

4. jaded_musician