1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

It's Time For A New Strat, Must I Overpay for a Custom Shop Strat?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by RYLee3, Oct 10, 2018 at 9:34 AM.

1. RYLee3

RYLee3 Member

Well, it's been awhile since I've found myself in this position. Before I get into the specifics, I'll start off by saying that I've been collecting guitars for well over 40 years, so, I know a little about guitars and such. That being said, I need to buy a Strat. I haven't bought a new guitar in ages, I'm a little embarrassed to say, I only play Fender and Gibson guitars, I know its old news, but that's the deal. I have a 66 Tele, so I'm good in the Tele department, I believe its pictured in my icon, I also have a Jeff Beck Artist Series Strat, which I was given for the tremolo set up, and it serves me well on that end, I have a 58 LP, a 1964 Reverse Firebird, a nice 335 which serves my purpose, a Taylor, a Breedlove, a fretless Bass, and a few others not worth mentioning.
    That being said, I need a new Strat, and I'm not familiar with the models, Elite, American Pro, and such. I've looked into the Fender Custom shop Strats, and played a few, but I think they are way over priced, at least in my opinion.
    Is anyone knowledgable with the new Strats? Like the Elite, or American Pro? Are they decent guitars? I have no clue, for the only Strat I've had is this JB Artist series which has one purpose.