Jazz Exploration

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by notpetrucci, Aug 16, 2006.

1. notpetrucci

notpetrucci Member

Im a young guitarist with decent experience with most styles and a good list of influences. Recently I've decided to audition for a school here in Charlotte for the arts as part of the Jazz Ensemble. While i've spent the last maybe 4 years focusing primarily on Blues and more ambient textured stylings, I've never really gotten deep into playing what I would call "true" Jazz. While I admire players like Wes Montgomery and Mike Stern, even horn players like Coltrane and Miles, I've just never had that push to pick up my Strat and get all jazzy on it. Untill now...

Any tips or online lessons for an up and coming jazz guitarist would be greatly appreciated.

-Jon

2. flexshock55

flexshock55 Guest

I'm probably not much older than you (college kid), but my advice would be to read up on jazz chord voicings, improv & more improv skills, learn how to mix some fast diminished and chromatic fills into solos, and study some old standards from wes montgomery, charlie christian, etc.

I've always liked jazz guitarists who actively integrate an overall melodic theme into their playing, like Charlie Byrd, John Carlini (playing older standards like Star Dust by Hoagy Carmichael), and Joe Pass.

Check out Chord Solo Guitar Vol. 2 by Carlini to see some good guitar jazz solos with semi-complex voicings. Also, Legends of Jazz Guitar Vols. 1-3 for Joe Pass & Charlie Byrd. Netflix has all these titles in stock if you don't want to buy.

I think Charlie Parker had said to put more emphasis on the major (2, 3, 6, & 7) intervals than the perfect (1, 4, 5, & 8) tones for soloing. Not to say that's a set-in-stone rule, but it gives a more jazzy feel.

Just my two cents. -Chad

3. KRosser

KRosser Member