Jazzmaster cap and pots question?

joafink2

Silver Supporting Member
I have a squier j mascis jazzmaster. I changed out the pickups to a Novak JMV neck and JM90 bridge. The JMV is a jazzmaster neck pickup and the JM90 is a P90 fit for a jazzmaster. I’m finding the highs ice picky with the 1 meg pots on the P90.

What pots and caps should I use to warm up or darken the tone?

I was thinking 2 CTS 500k pots with a .022 cap? Is this a good idea or should I mix values of pots or go with a different cap to achieve a warmer less harsh sound?

Ron Kirn

I'd give the 500K a shot, and be ready to move on to 250K
But remember ya have 50k and 1 meg in the rhythm wiring you may want to address too. However since it so rarley usesd perhaps not..

but you're not going to hurt anything trying different caps and pots.. there will be no explosions..

r

joafink2

Silver Supporting Member
I'd give the 500K a shot, and be ready to move on to 250K
But remember ya have 50k and 1 meg in the rhythm wiring you may want to address too. However since it so rarley usesd perhaps not..

but you're not going to hurt anything trying different caps and pots.. there will be no explosions..

r
Thanks for the response. I have never used the rhythm circuit. Do you think I should disconnect it altogether or just leave it and try the 500k with .022? Also, any caps you’d recommend? Orange drop or PIO?

woodymq

Silver Supporting Member
Thanks for the response. Any opinion on caps? Orange drop or PIO?
Value of .022 would be my choice. Not sold on the whole cap type argument, other than make sure you buy from a reputable manufacturer that has good tolerances on their values.

Ron Kirn

yeah. don't sweat the type of cap only the value is important, but sometimes ya just like to know there;s a Ferrari engine under the hood even through ya can't see it.. I'd say the Orange Drop would check all the right boxes...

as for the rythm circuit.. it;s noit hurting aything, you may as well leave it as it is..

r