Jazzmaster middle pickup ideas?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by joshofsorts, Feb 10, 2015.

1. joshofsorts

joshofsorts Supporting Member

I have a Jazzmaster I put together for myself a few years back from a Fender Japanese model that had a horrible repaint job and a Strat neck. I ended up repainting and changing out everything on the guitar except the body by the time I was done with it.

Because of it's Frankenstein status I don't have any misgivings about getting weird with it & have been considering adding a middle pickup to bring more versatility. Ideally something that would not require routing would be nice, but I have access to routing equipment if I decide to go that route. I was thinking of something along the lines of a Goldfoil-type. Has anyone done this with a Jazzmaster and have suggestions on pickups that might work well? The guitar currently has Curtis Novaks, JM-FAT in the bridge and a JM-V in the neck.

2. S1Player

S1Player Member

I have 2 Curtis Novak JM-180's in my JM. Love the sound of that pickup. you could put it in the middle or put it in the bridge or neck and move the other 2 around.

3. Sweetfinger

Sweetfinger Supporting Member

4. K-Line

K-Line Gold Supporting Member

Firebird. I build a FB-FB-T setup and the middle FB is pure.

5. bigtone23

bigtone23 Member

It does look cool in there!
    [​IMG]
    How about a third Jazzmaster pickup? That way it will match up nicely.
    [​IMG]

6. joshofsorts

Those those do look nice. I would have to measure, but I don't know if there is enough room between pickups for a third Jazzmaster pickup with the stock setup. The other thing is I'd like to try a pickup that doesn't sound like a Jazzmaster as I've already got that covered...

7. joshofsorts

How do the sound of Firebird pickups compare to the Jazzmaster type?

8. K-Line

K-Line Gold Supporting Member