Jerry Garcia MXR Phase 100...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Mars Hall, Mar 31, 2020.

1. Mars Hall

Mars Hall Member

Howdy all, I play in a GD tribute band. I'm seeking a phaser pedal, from researching, I found Jerry used the MXR Phase 100, script logo. I have no experience with these, so I like to seek the wisdom and knowledge you all behold. For instance, how good are the reissue as compared to the vintage models? Are there tonal differences between vintage script and block logo versions or is it just and indicator of age? Are they noisy? Any info would be helpful.

2. Lolaviola

Lolaviola Member

I’ve had several vintage MXR P100’s and one just never sounded right. Try before you buy.
    Still... I’ve been going down a JGB rabbit hole lately, brushing up on some of the old material. I rarely hear him use the phasor. (Sometimes on Sugaree?) and the rate is always fast like a Leslie. I just mean to say that it is not essential to own the 100 and the 90 gets in the ballpark. I have a hand wired script reissue 90 that I use presently and it’s awesome. No led or ac but ...hey?

Laurence and Mars Hall like this.
  3. Jr Deluxe

Jr Deluxe Member

Sugar Magnolia is the only song I can think of that a phaser would matter. I'm sure any phase 90 would be good enough. I myself would just skip the phaser. What you NEED is a auto wah for shakedown street. The EHX QTRON is supposed to be a decent copy of Jer's Mutron.

tonedover likes this.
  4. tonedover

tonedover Silver Supporting Member

buy a used phase 95

remember his phaser was deconstructed and turned into part of his rack, very diff than how we would put a pedal in a rack today

5. TheSpricket

TheSpricket Member