Joe Pass/Satin Doll -what next?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by squeally dan, Jun 25, 2008.

1. squeally dan

squeally dan Member

I am new to jazz & found a book with several songs with the tab and play along cd. THe song that stuck out the most was Joe Pass' version of Satin doll. I find it easier when their is a strong melody to latch on too. I think his chordal solo style makes the melody more defineable. Anyway, I am working on Satin Doll and while I can tell it will take me a while to get the entire thing down, I am making progress. I am curious what might be a good next song, especially if their is something in the same vein that I could work on.

2. jhumber

jhumber Member

Some songs I've looked at through the Jimmy Bruno site, which all feature great melodies:

Blue Bossa
    All The Things You Are
    Green Dolphin Street

As well as those, two of my faves are Summertime and Autumn Leaves....both very popular, loads of version available to reference, and great tunes to learn from.

Cheers
    Jordan.

3. Berlin Chris

Berlin Chris Member

Try to learn the songs you are *really* interested in. The ones you love to hear and play.

Sounds almost too simple, I know. For me that was (and is) the only way to learn new stuff. I have to love it.

That being said: round midnight, blue in green, flamenco sketches, Porkpie, sunny, are songs that *I* love.

Have fun! :)

4. squeally dan

squeally dan Member

Anyone else tackled Joe Pass's version of Satin Doll? Did he use a pick when playing all the chordal type solos mixed with single line stuff? This one is hard for me. Its slowly getting easier but definately not what I'm used too. THe fact that I like the song/melody is making it fun and easier since I can hear where it is going.

5. Clifford-D

Clifford-D Member

Pick/fingers

He was equal with both.

6. dewey decibel

dewey decibel Supporting Member

we eat a lot of cheese and drink a lot of beer