Join the band or cut and run?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by TheoDog, May 25, 2015.

1. TheoDog

TheoDog Silver Supporting Member

I have been asked to complete a 4 piece country band. I agreed to give it a whirl. The singer has some contacts and a little experience with singer/songwriter and cafe acoustic stuff.
    Finally got to first practice after learning that there are 2 gigs already scheduled. Private party and a bar that pays 100% of cover to the band.

Singer sings fine. Stuck in the CAGED strum-a-song and tends to get a little lost. The bassist and I learned the 35 or so tunes as quick as we could and came prepared. The drummer, not so much... And every tune ended up about as fast as the last. Even tunes I started with my phone's click ended up freight training away.

I am no Nashville pro, but I have worked with successful regional traveling bands. I wasn't expecting to be signing on with a rookie start up group. Am I spoiled? I don't don't feel it is my place to correct someone else's friend. I asked the singer if the drummer can play to a click track.

Just looking for some thoughtful council.
    Thanks for reading.

2. Two-Octave

Two-Octave Member

3. Stefenator

Stefenator Member

Is there a compelling reason for NOT bailing (not a lot of gigs/bands where you are, etc.)?

If not, respectfully bow out and find something else...

4. screamtone

screamtone Supporting Member

I have a rule. I can give you music lessons, or I can play in your band. I can't do both. Doing both is just too frustrating for me.

5. MGT

MGT Member

I love that quote....think I might actually use it this week at rehearsal. Wish it weren't necessary to...

6. TheoDog

TheoDog Silver Supporting Member

That's good stuff, scream tone.

I would be concerned with coming off condescending or arrogant.