Joined my first cover band, any tips and tricks for learning all those songs

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Evitucci, Feb 13, 2015.

1. Evitucci

Evitucci Member

Like the title says after 20 years playing in original bands I joined a cover band. Mostly because I am new to the Denver area and don't have the time to be the band leader. Still going to write songs on my own. Very excited about it and the new challenge.

So for all of you who play in cover bands any tips and tricks on learning a lot of songs quickly? Do you create a note book with all the tunes, do you use an iPad, do you recommend software to slow down and learn the guitar solos, any website you uses for tabs? Anything like that. - Thanks

2. GuitarGuy66

GuitarGuy66 Member

The amplitube app lets you slow them down. What's the list? Make a playlist and listen to it constantly. Choose 5 songs and learn them. Then 5 more. Etc etc.

3. mscotts

mscotts What?! Silver Supporting Member

I use an app called Anytune. Fantastic to either move keys up or down and keep the same tempo or keep the same key and slow the tempo of a song or part down to learn it. Invaluable tool for me!

4. Dana Olsen

Dana Olsen Gold Supporting Member

Just study with Youtube .... a lot. Repetition is the key, but you may want to write a rudimentary 'chart', more of a roadmap through the tunes.

I say learn chords and song form first, then defining licks or figures, then solos.

In my opinion, try playing them ALL WITHOUT YOUTUBE once you've figured them out. Youtoube can be very helpful at first, but it can also become a terrible crutch. You'll memorize them better w/o Youtube, but you may learn them better with it.

My two cents, Dana O.

5. CRBMoA

CRBMoA Member

Anytune ROCKS!

I am in the process of learning 57 new songs (joined a band in a different genre).

Basically go to sleep every night listening to the sets, and every couple of days I play along and fine tune what I am learning.