JTM 45 & Bluesbreaker? Same amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by illini, Oct 15, 2008.

1. illini

illini Member

Is the Bluesbreaker a JTM 45 in a combo?

2. shngn7

shngn7 Member

I am no expert on them whatsoever but I believe the Bluesbreaker features a tremolo circuit which decreases the gain capabilities and the JTM 45 doesn't. Someone will surely correct me if I am wrong.

3. Rocket Brother

Rocket Brother Member

You sir, are right.
    The only other difference is the Bluesbreaker is a open back 2x12", whereas the JTM 45 is a head most often paired with a closed back cab.
    RB

4. illini

illini Member

The tone of the few clips I have heard of the Bluesbreaker sound different than a JTM 45. The combo sounds more bluesy than the clips of the JTM 45. Can you get the ACDC tone out of the combo's?

5. epluribus

epluribus Member

They sound very different to me too--the Bluesbreaker seeming to break up earlier and edgier, with boxier mids and softer highs. Definitely a signature sound and feel, very distinct from the '45.

Always suspected it has more to do with the actual parts Marshall sourced during production than changes to the schemo's. IIRC, they were using Dagnall/Drake transformers and Marconi KT66's during the bulk of Bluesbreaker production, but JTM45s have a somewhat tighter character that may be the result of a change in suppliers during the height of production. Always wondered about that--sounds like more goin' on in there than the cab and speaker choices would account for. Sounds like maybe a bit softer transformers and tubes that saturate a tad earlier and deeper than what they used in the heads.

Fosse-natin'. Different critters for sure.

--Ray

6. illini

illini Member

To bad really. I like both amps, and it would be great to "kill with one stone" as they say. Not sure what I will do now.

7. epluribus

epluribus Member