Judging Teles Unplugged

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by digthosetubes, Jan 27, 2008.

1. digthosetubes

digthosetubes Senior Member

Can you predict the good sound potential of a Tele -- unplugged -- simply by gauging body, neck, and pegboard vibration? Of course you want to plug the guitar in at some point. But I am thinking that the better teles are going to be more lively and better sounding before any amp comes into the picture. The pickups I am thinking of for the plugged-in part of the evaluation are the Nocaster Custom Shops.

Does playing the guitar a lot make it sound better? And if so, how.

Are there other guitars where the pegboard will vibrate as much as a good tele when you thwonk the strings?

I'm new to all this Tele business but am impressed with how lively they can be -- in terms of vibrating.

2. Dana Olsen

Dana Olsen Gold Supporting Member

In my opinion, no - there's not necessarily a lot of correlation between the sound of a Tele, or any other guitar, unplugged to the sound of one plugged.

That's because when they're plugged in, what you're mostly hearing is the pickup, cab and amp, colored by wood and setup. I think you can tell things like sustain when the guitar's unplugged, but I think things like 'spank' and whether the high end is 'ice picky' or smooth can only be heard plugged in.