Just got my first Ribbon Mic and am Blown Away

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by shawntp, Jun 2, 2008.

1. shawntp

shawntp Member

...and all by this little Cascade Fat Head for $159 running through my Apogee Duet.

Let me start with I am a solo home/hobby musician and I record 3 sources - My Carr Mercury Guitar Cab, my baritone Voice, and sometimes Acoustic guitar. In the past ive owned a Neumann TLM103, SM57, Peluso CEMC6, several others and am currintly using a SM7b, Rode NT4, and some 57's for the above sources.

Man - Ribbon is the way! (at least for me).

I can't believe this thing - its not perfect and definitly take some work to get the gain/distance right but it does it all (crank the Duets gain and back way off an acoustic, or move into 1ft from my cab).

It also seems to be pretty easy to EQ which I will admit everything but my guitar cab required.

Man though - it seems like every mic I have doesn't hold up to that smooth real sound the ribbon has. Not the SM7b on my voice (once the fat head was EQ'ed right), not the SM57 or 7 on the cab, acoustic I am still dialing in but in a pinch it works great. I even tried blending mics but the Ribbon sounded best on its own - just Real and Smooth.

I starting to think I was missing out all these years - maybe I should dump some of my gear and go for something further up the line like the Naked Eye. Anyone else use a ribbon on almost everything?

2. wolf9309

wolf9309 Member

A naked Eye is probably one of the greatest purchases you can make IMO. I find that they blow away Royers and other ribbons.

That said, I like ribbons a lot and will often use them for many different instruments, but rarely by themselves unless its on something like brass instruments. They just don't always seem to sit right in the mix for guitars and vocals by themselves.

3. placebo62

placebo62 Supporting Member

cool man, got any clips of the recording? How do you like the apogee?

4. Rumblefish