Just Got My V-Picks

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by lawrencedesigns, Jan 10, 2008.

1. lawrencedesigns

lawrencedesigns Member

I got home late last night to find that my first "trial order" of v-picks were here.
    I am a casual home guitarist that has been playing for about 40 years. Hobby only.
    After about ten minutes with these new picks, I was just floored! I have never been an especially fast player, but I think I see why now. I always thought it was my LEFT hand slowing me down. An hour with my new v-pick felt like 10 hours of lessons on right hand technique.
    I CANT QUIT PLAYING NOW!!!
    And the "gift with purchase" aspect that my pinch harmonics that were always marginal at best now ring out like Gibbons.
    Obviously, my picking technique has needed some major work, and these new picks addressed MY issues. YMMV. But please, try them.

Keeth Lawrence

2. JonR

JonR Member

Can you explain a bit more how they're different - physically - from standard picks? They don't look that special (although they're obviously thicker on average than other picks). Is it the profile?

3. lawrencedesigns

lawrencedesigns Member

Jon,
    I could try to explain, but I am sure that I wouldn't do them justice. Check for other postings here, for complete information. You can also check out their website at www.V-Picks.com.
    1000% endorsement from me!

Keeth Lawrence
    Lawrence Designs

4. willhutch

willhutch Supporting Member

I've been using them. I like the "freakishly large" size.

Features:
    1) very thick with no flexion at all.
    2) symmetrical - all 3 corners are same.
    3) The corners ar not as pointy as standard picks. This is good for me as I always used the rounded corners of picks.
    4) The special part - the edge of the pick is sharp. It is bevelled down so that the witness point where the pick last touches the string is just as thin as a standard pick.