Just started my first amp build!

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by Cobra, Jan 15, 2006.

1. Cobra

Cobra Supporting Member

I'm just getting started on my first amp build. I've got almost all of the parts & components, & I'm finalizing the configuration & layout. It's gonna have 2 separate preamps:

1) the brite side of a 5E3 Tweed Deluxe, with 2 inputs, 1 12AX7, 1 volume & 1 tone.
    2) AC-15 preamp with 2 inputs, 1 EF86, 1 volume, & global cut control.

I'm still deciding on what type of phase inverter circuit. It's either going to be a cathodyne, or a long tailed pair.

Power amp will be like a 5E3x2, or a Victoria Double Deluxe, utilizing four 6V6 tubes, cathode biased, with either a GZ34, or a 5V4/GZ32 recto tube.

Transformers will be a complete Matchless DC-30 three trannie set: Power, 30 watt output, & choke. 4, 8, & 16 ohm speaker outs. Big iron!

The chassis is .090 all aluminum, 16"x8"x3" with mounting flanges, & very nicely welded on all four corners.

The whole shootin' match will be housed in a 2x10 combo cab, controls on the front, like Dr.Z combos, with two 8ohm Scumback 10" speakers run in series, at 16ohms total, to take advantage of all the windings of the Matchless output transformer. Of course, I can also wire the speakers in parallel at 4ohms for a different configuration.

I'm far from an expert on this, so any amp gurus that want to chime in on anything at all, feel free to do so. This project is, & will continue to be, a work in progress. I started buying the parts for it almost 2 years ago, & I've been doing copius amounts of research so I have some idea what I'm doing. The goal is to build a homebrew amp that has the features I like & want, will hopefully do clean to scream from the guitar volume, & provide me with a cool learning experience on the finer points of the inner workings of guitar amps. I'd appreciate anybody's thoughts, opinions, ideas, or suggestions.

2. donnyjaguar