K-Line Tele Review

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by b3l5tele, Sep 4, 2006.

1. b3l5tele

b3l5tele Supporting Member

I wanted to find a relic Tele and decided not to go the Fender Custom Shop route because of the high price tag and I figured that with the number of builders out there I should be able to get a high quality Tele for a lot less money. Over the years I have had many real vintage Fender strats and teles. Sold them all for one reason or another. (Kirk Fletcher has a 59 maple board strat and Adam Stark has a 53 black guard, 2 of my old guitars that come to mind that I wish I had not sold.) I have also had several Fender relics starting with a new relic Cunetto strat that was not even known as a cunetto when it first came out. Another great guitar that is out there somewhere. Anyway, the point being, I have had a lot of experience with these types of guitar.
    Enter K-Line. Hmm, easy to get in touch with, just starting out, clear and up front about the construrtion details. The neck and body are from All parts. I specified a rosewood board neck with 9.5 radius and an ash body. I lucked out and got a very light piece of ash with the guitar coming in at just a bit over 7 lbs. Hardware is Gotoh. The pickups are Lollars, a 52 in the bridge and a vintage in the neck. These Lollars are a big surprise to me. They are fantastic. The bridge is fat and clear and the neck is the same. Chris makes Fralin, Duncans, etc available as "upgrades." After hearing these Lollars I would not describe any other pickup as an upgrade to a Lollar, they may be different but these Lollars are as good as any pickups I have heard.