Keeley Blues Driver 2

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by cander328, Mar 5, 2006.

1. cander328

cander328 Member

I am suprised that this pedal is not discussed much here. I have been building an analog pedal board for a few months now and have accumulated quite a collection of ODs and this is one of my favorites so far! It seems to overdrive my tube amp (Mesa Lonestar Special) without changing the way my guitars react to my playing. What I am also impressed with is that it seems to not get in the way of the tonal characteristics of my guitars in the process of overdriving my amp. My main axe is an EJ Strat, although I also play Les Pauls, an ES-335 TD and an ES-175-D. I am still waiting on my Tim and Timmy to add to my collection but so far I am comparing the Keeley BD-2 to a Keeley Sparkle Drive, Keeley Baked Mod TS-9, and an Xotic AC Booster. Surely I have others to try out but this one is a keeper!

Current Big Board:
    RMC Picture Wah (with FoxRox Mod)->Keeley Compressor->Chicago Iron Octavian Plus (with Fuzz separately switchable)->Mojo Vibe->Xotic AC Booster (setup as clean boost)->Keeley BD2 (setup as mid boost)->Keeley Ultra Mod DS1->Analog Man Chorus (with Deep switch)->Ernie Ball Volume Pedal (with TU-2 on isolated output)-> Keeley AD9-> Mesa Lonestar Special

2. mrbluetone

mrbluetone Member

I use one for my main tone along with the Keeley Comp..it is a very versatile effect..the tone control really works.

3. westerhever

westerhever Member

i've been using a bd-2 in front of my vox ac-30 for almost 10years.tried a lot of expensive "boutique" pedals (fulldrive,ocd,xotic etc.)but this cheap little pedal is the winner up to now and it seems to work great with any guitar,cleans up perfectly with the guitar volume control and doesn't cut the bass too much.as you said i find it doesn't get in the way of the original guitar tone.anyway i'd like to know how it compares to a tim/timmy...

4. erksin

erksin Member