Keeley Comp or Barber Tone Press?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by ratkent, Jan 3, 2006.

1. ratkent

ratkent Member

I've been doing lots of forum research and I feel pretty confident that one of these two (if not both) will do the job I need. Since I've never spent much time with either the Keeley or the Barber so I'm looking for comparisons or opinions on either. I have a Carl Martin Compressor but I want a more user friendly set of controls. It's a great unit, but I have an old Dyna Comp at home and I would like something with that kind of simplicity but with a higher quality tone.

2. ChazMania

ChazMania Silver Supporting Member

Im new to compressors, and recently picked up the Barber. I have really enjoyed this box so far. It seems to really make my Budda SD18 more sparkley, it adds sustain, and the drive feature can act as a boost if I want it. Also, I have been going back and forth with a reverb pedal (EV Holy Grail) and the Barber before the HG really makes the verb sound better, without the Barber, the HG is noisy and mushy. Probably the HG is just not that good anyhow.
    I have been running DynaRanger-Timmy-Barber-HG-Choralflange-DL4 out.

3. ccoker

ccoker Supporting Member

I got the barber last week
    I LOVE it

the blend feature is a stroke of genius

4. olectric

olectric Supporting Member

I own the Barber and have played the Keeley. If you know anything about the builders, you know both comps are quality pedals. IMO, the Barber wins for its versatility. The blend knob is great--allowing you to blend your attack in with the compressed signal. With the internal trim pot, you can darken the sound up like a vintage comp. Most users don't tinker with that internal trimmer, so they don't know how well it can do a vintage squish. The Barber can also be used as a class A clean boost (just turn the blend knob fully CCW). I paid $80 for mine, which is also something that can't be done with the Keeley.

5. seanc