Kemper Amp Profiling - Assist Needed

Jester

I'm new to the whole Kemper world and would like to get rolling with some amp profiling. I've never done any recording, so this is a new world to me. Here are the questions I have:

• Which mid level (price wise) mic do you recommend?
  • Do mic cables (quality) make a difference, if so which ones should I consider?
  • Do I need a microphone preamp?
  • Does the room quality make a difference, or can you profile an amp in a non-studio space?
  • Any tips and tricks I should be utilizing as I profile an amp with the Kemper?

Viabcroce

Hey Jester,
each mic imparts its specific sound signature to recording\profiling, so this is not different from any amp mic'ing. Shure is a classic, but we have seen any kind of mic'ing, and also multiple mic'ing.

Any good-quality cable will do the job.

You don't need a pre, unless your mic's sensitivity is so low that the signal is weak (never experience this so far).
OTOH, a pre will impart its signature too, so it's a matter of what you want your profiles to sound like.

For a close-mic'ed profiling the room is basically irrelevant, unless one of its non-linearities hit the mic a big deal.

I'd advise you to read Kemper's Profiling Guide (as a df, from their site) and the profiling-related tricks&tips you'll be able to find in the online wikpa.

Have fun! :)

trazan

• Which mid level (price wise) mic do you recommend?
  • An SM57 works fine, as it has done for decades. At least if you don't have a mic preamp (+48v), you need a dynamic mic.
  • Do mic cables (quality) make a difference, if so which ones should I consider?
  • Nah, unless it's ****** quality/faulty.
  • Do I need a microphone preamp?