Kemper Learning Curve?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by M@tt C, Apr 17, 2015.

1. M@tt C

M@tt C Supporting Member

After much deliberation between Axe FX and Kemper I pulled the trigger on a Kemper, and it's on the way to me- found a great deal on a new in the box rack unit that I couldn't pass up!

I've been perusing the manual, going thru the Kemper forum, etc. just to get my head around all the unit can do, but until I have it in front of me it's all theoretical.

So- what's the learning curve like? The unit is arriving Tuesday, and I have a gig that Saturday. I've got some experience with rack FX, and very basic MIDI knowledge. I need some basic mid to high gain rock tones with some delay/ chorus stuff for the 80's vibe, and currently have a Midi Mate controller.

Is it possible to get to gig- able levels of know-how in that short amount of time? My current rig is fully intact, so I have that as my safety net!

2. SkyhighRocks

SkyhighRocks Member

I find it much easier than the axe...I've owned 2 of each. T%he key with the Kemper is finding the right profiles. There are thousands out there but there may only be a few that actually sound perfect to you. It's all subjective. Try out as many as you can. Definitely download the rig manager and use that...much easier to go through rigs.

3. C-4

C-4 Member

Here for now, Europe when I die. Am I dead yet?
    I am currently saving for a Kemper, and have also been reading the manuals for it and asking questions.
    Another player here just got one this week. He reported that he took his time, and the first night found a profile of a Marshall, which he set up as he uses his real Marshall live. He said it was so amazing that he thinks it sounds better then his real Marshall.

When I get mine, I plan to work with it at home until I can correct anything I don't like about the sound when I get to use it live. I'd rather take my time and make sure, then run out to use it live and be disapointed.